Technical Advisory Panel


Dr. Arno Penzias
Prior to joining NEA in 1997, Dr. Penzias headed research as Chief Scientist at Bell Labs. At NEA, he guides portfolio companies in the areas of technology, strategy, and intellectual property. In addition to HelioVolt, Dr. Penzias also serves on, and frequently chairs, Technical Advisory Boards for other NEA companies. He has written two books and a number of articles on information technology, focusing on its impact on business and society. A member of both the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering, he received a B.S. from City College of New York and a Ph.D. from Columbia University. His awards include a number of honorary degrees, as well as other awards, for his contributions to science, R&D management, and public service. Most notable of these is the 1978 Nobel Prize in Physics for his work in radio astronomy.


Dr. Jim Sites
Dr. Sites is Professor of Physics at Colorado State University. He contributes significant expertise in thin-film materials with a particular focus on solar cell physics and fabrication. Dr. Sites received his B.S. from Duke University and his Ph.D. from Cornell University.


Dr. Vish Krishnan

A foremost scholar on the topics of product, process, and business innovation, Dr. Krishnan holds an endowed chair at the University of California, San Diego’s Rady School of Management where he leads the school’s efforts in the areas of innovation, technology, and operations. He has published numerous well-cited articles and serves in editorial positions for the top management journals. Prior to the Rady School, Dr. Krishnan was IC2 Senior Research Fellow and Management Professor at the McCombs School of Business at UT Austin. He received his Ph.D. in Engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology